this luminous life.

By Laura

Items discovered in my pockets today:

Front left sweatshirt pocket: bottle cap.
Two weekends ago, Jon introduced me to Magic Hat beer. This was written inside the bottle cap: "Expand your view with things that are new." I didn't notice it but he pointed it out to me and how appropriate it was for me. I decided to keep it as a reminder to try new things and just live.

Back right jean pocket: flat origami star.
I attended a party last weekend (it was a birthday celebration for an inflatable shark that's currently being held ransom but that's a whole other story...) and plastic easter eggs were passed out with notes inside. Some notes said to take shots, introduce yourself to people, etc. Mine said "Fold this into a star. (Find a teacher if you need to)." I really liked the note, and the whole egg concept.

_______________________________________

I'm currently watching You Can't It With You. In the beginning of the film, an eccentric old man enters an office building and approaches an accountant adding up figures. The old man asks him "What are you doing?" After getting an explanation, he then remarks, "Say, do you like it?"

"Like it?" The accountant is puzzled.

"This work you're doing."

"No, my goodness, no."

"Well, why do you do it?"

It then sparks a conversation in which the old man asks the accountant what he would rather being doing ("Making up things") and encourages him to follow through with his fun dreams rather than add up numbers meaninglessly.

Sometimes I wish it were easy to just do what you love instead of stressing yourself over work that doesn't really matter to you.

But then again... it is that easy
if you put your heart into it.

So why don't we do that more often?

__________
a year ago: 'impossible' puzzle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.