wonderfulworld

By wonderfulworld

Family home... For sale

A host of happy memories for sale with this house:

- Family gatherings around the kitchen table that my father's family also used
- JP, our budgey, sitting on my fathers head as we carried on talking... This was a normal occurrence.
- sibling fights with my sister in the two attic rooms at the top of the house
- Sunday roasts in the dining room with the whole 8 of us
- swimming off the little harbour down the back of the house 'down the beach'
- the sound of the trains as they passed by our back garden.
- jumping into the sea with my school uniform on, to mark the last day of school.
- Bomfires on the beach we had access to
- Driving our friends around in a big blue station wagon passed on from my parents.
- leaving to go on my travels
- Coming back when broke or heartbroken
- moving out to my own house
- For the last five years living there to get to work and looking after my mother with my Dad.
- Seeing my father dying on the driveway after he fell.

Happy and sad live hand and hand. That is life and this gift of a house will be part of someone else's life now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.