Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Goodbyes

A beautiful start to a day when I learned that my Aunt Wilma had passed away.  She was quite the spirited soul and I adored her.  Being my youngest aunt, she was also the one who I felt closest to. My mother constantly calls me Wilma to this day, even when I am speaking on the phone with her.  It never fails to make me smile.

I was lucky enough to spend time with her last summer (see extra) so despite the Covid travel restrictions this past summer, at least I got to have a few special talks with her.  And of course, there is always Facebook ;)  She would send me jokes, funny videos, but most of all, music videos of fiddlers. Ashley MacIssac and Natalie MacMaster, were two of her favourites, and they knew her on a first name basis.  In fact, she face-timed with Natalie to lift her spirits. I will always be grateful that they always took the time to give here a hug, sit with her and chat, when they had a performance. 

She was a very special lady and will be dearly missed.  Thank goodness for all the memories.

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.