Oscar

Had a lovely letter this morning from The Donkey Sanctuary to let me know that Joanne had renewed her donation for Oscar in my name. She did this a couple of years ago for my birthday (November) and I think it's a great idea for a birthday present.
Her additional present last year was a helicopter trip around Gloucestershire, which I haven't yet been able to take because of the Covid-19 restrictions! Some airfields have been doing some flights but not Gloucestershire yet.
Another monthly donation I started recently was to 'Animals Asia' after reading the appalling stories about large bears being held in small cages for up to 30 years and their bile being extracted, under dreadful pain and dirty conditions. What medical benefit they think they get from bear bile is just beyond me. The Chinese, in general, seem to have no concept of animal cruelty and any help I can give is little enough.
I had first hand experience of bear cruelty when visiting Moscow for two weeks. A 'Dancing' bear was in one of the squares with a crowd of probably 30 or 40 people watching. It was appalling, blood pouring from the tugging of the ring in it's nose and being made to dance by prodding with a stick, which I'm sure had a nail in the end of it. 
How can people treat animals like this, but on the other hand some people don't treat children any better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.