But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Bandits 10 O'Clock.

Today was not a good day for combining cycling with photography, there was a blizzard in the morning and a heavy (cold) shower in the afternoon. Consequently, today's blip might not be up to scratch.

I'd followed the buzzard up the hill while it was being harassed by half a dozen magpies and a couple of rooks. When I took the picture, they weren't in view, so I'm afraid I cheated and copied in a rook (twice) and the buzzard from a photo taken a few seconds earlier.

The gentleman cresting the hill is a noted eccentric as well as being sartorially challenged; the more observant viewer will notice that he is wearing a shower cap, presumably on the strength of the afternoon weather forecast. Unfortunately, by the time that the rain showers arrived, the wind had stolen his headgear. He deserves no sympathy, very early in the ride, when I had helpfully suggested that the noise emanating from his rear mudguard might signify that something important was likely to occur, he had pointedly commented that the only noise that bothered him was my continual whinging.

I think the problems began when I arrived at the start a few minutes late, the two other riders had been punctual and were discussing whether to go to the cafe first or to just go straight home and save their pennies. My smile and enthusiasm convinced them that they should do the honourable thing and go on the planned ride, one never knew, others could be making their own way to the lunch stop as we spoke. They weren't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.