On this day 1945

This is a photograph of my maternal grandfather (1873 - 1948), taken in about 1910.
 
He emigrated to South Africa from Lithuania in about 1898 and gained citizenship of the Colony of the Cape of Good Hope,  South Africa in 1902.
 
The snippet of a letter seen below the photo is dated 26 September 1945 and is written to a friend, probably and ex student colleague from Lithuania, now living in the USA.
 
The relevance is that today is the 26 September 2020, and here is the text that interests me
 
He refers to Cherry, his oldest daughter,  my mother.
 
"Cherry, with her boy of two [my brother], is busy providing a playmate for him, and if I delayed this letter for another month, I may have advised you of another branch of the genealogical tree."
 
That freshly sprouting branch is none other than your author, who did indeed make an appearance a month later.
 
This is the oldest known existence of a written reference about me, and should be in a museum ( the letter, not me).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.