simisue

By simisue

WESTERN FENCE LIZARD

Back on May 18th I posted a Blip of this kind of lizard I found on our patio. 
My research stated they breed in the summer & the young arrive in or around August.  Sure enough, I have seen many tiny WETERN FENCE LIZARDS scurrying around my flower gardens, so I know they are breeding in my yard.  

While taking my morning walk, this mature lizard posed for me on a fence rail (SEE EXTRA) a ways from my house.  This is not the parent of the small lizards in my back yard, but it reminded me of the growing family.  

These lizards  hibernate, but I am not sure when, or where  that will happen.  Yesterday, I moved the trash cans to sweep behind them, & a small lizard scurried out from under a pile of leaves & dirt.  I wonder if he was hunting insects or preparing for the Winter.  

I hope they all find a cozy spot to hibernate, & send a memo to the 
rattlesnakes, so they will, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.