Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Stop Thief!

Who stole my husband?!

The man I married nearly 20 years ago swore he would not abide by "Hallmark Holidays." He wasn't going to let commercial enterprises tell him when he had to give me gifts. Consequently, we've rarely ever celebrated Valentine's Day. (But to his credit, he's been known to frequently bring me flowers for no specific reason whatsoever. So I'm not complaining.)

This morning I took the car to work. When I got home, I found not one, but TWO, vases of beautiful flowers. Which he biked through the bitter cold to buy for me. Quite the surprise! So, either he forgot that it's Valentine's Day, or someone stole my husband and replaced him with an impostor :)

Either way, I'm quite happy for the flowers and I'll keep him. In return, I offer these lines by Anne Finch in her poem To A Husband

This is to the crown and blessing of my life,
The much loved husband of a happy wife;
To him whose constant passion found the art
To win a stubborn and ungrateful heart,
And to the world by tenderest proof discovers
They err, who say that husbands can't be lovers.


Happy Valentine's Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.