secret garden

By freespiral

One Billion (and one) Rising!

Kendall alerted me to this worldwide event and I was amazed and delighted that there was going to be an Rising in Bantry - I had to go along. These events, mostly involving dancing, have been held to bring attention to the horrifying statistics relating to violence against women - 1 in 3 of us can expect to be raped or assaulted. This wasn't a gloom or doom event though - 100 women, children and men assembled in the Square, and every ten minutes broke out into a joyful dance- the moves having been learnt beforehand - some of us improvised! In between you were free to groove. After a million blips had been taken, I joined in and shaked my bits along with the rest. Exhilarating.

This is for you Kendall - I hope you're dancing somewhere yourself.
Please biggify for the full exuberance.

More here

One Billion Rising

I hope you're all having a suitably smoochy Valentine's Day too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.