Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Lydiard Park

I had a lovely day with Mrs C today at Lydiard Park in Swindon. We had planned to go to Buscot Park again but it doesn’t open until 2pm and we’d need to leave for school runs by ten past so there didn’t seem too much point!!
I Googled things to do near Swindon (it’s halfway between us!) and Lydiard Park came up. Great for exercise and recreation apparently. Perfect!!
After a rocky start trying to get our bearings and find the toilets we had a lovely time. We got tea and walked all round the park. There’s a fab tree climbing place which we’ll bring the kids back to. We had delicious carrot and coriander soup for lunch. When we’d asked what flavour the soup was she reeled off about five flavours so I assumed it was just going to be a tin warmed up. But it tasted homemade and was yummy.
I didn’t love the wooden cutlery.
I have issues eating with a wooden spoon!
Stupid coronavirus!!!
As we were eating the wind was howling and things kept falling on us from trees, and in our soup. And everybody had purple hair. One man was even wearing a purple velour suit.
It all got a bit weird!!!
As usual with Mrs C there was lots of laughter.
On the way there and back I listened to Steve Job’s biography on Audible. I have listened to the radio since I was a child. Steve Wright in the morning getting ready for school, then Simon Mayo, Radio 1 doing homework, revising, driving, taping the charts every Sunday night. Radio 4 in the house growing up,
Radio 5 since it started - live news and sport permanently on in the house and car.
Until this year.
I just can’t stand it any more. The constant bleakness. Negativity, endless arguing, confrontation, aggression, contradiction, BREAKING NEWS that isn’t, analysis of analysis because there’s nothing new.
So I listen to Nightcore in the car with the kids (I’m so down with them!!!) and Audiobooks on my own. Agatha Christie, Inspector Morse, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.
Perfect Escapism!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.