I see you.... Watching me....

When I was at University - I did the all encompassing BA In Commerce - that that the degree which enabled you to be a "Commercial Teacher" at school 

Commercial covered Typing, Shorthand, Accounts, Economics, Business Studies.   We also studied Maths, psychology, sociology, and risk management, marketing, insurance and banking. We covered everything. 

Shorthand was my downfall.  Herr Bruke, as we called her, told me to go to the opticians.  She said I obviously had problems with my eyesight, because my shorthand was so bad. 

I went to the Opticians, and he said "No you have 2020 vision, you are just crap at shorthand". 

Fast forward many, many years, and now my eyesight is not 2020.  I have glasses for driving and I have glasses for reading.  If I use one, I HAVE to use the other.  If it don't use either, I can muddle through - and yet, drives in the car are so much more special when I can see all the fields around me, and not just vague green patterns. 

Today, Tooli phoned us from her bed at around 2 pm.  She had been socially distanced golfing the previous night and then spent several hours drinking with her new flatmates and keeled over about 230am. 

She's was very poorly and asked us if we could do a favour - go and pick up her new glasses for her which she had ordered before she left. 

Of course we obliged, it's not as though she can nip home from Oxford to get them herself. 

Glasses collected; we came home; continued with the work, and finally collapsed at 6.30 last night.  

allotment from 10 - 12, shopping 12-1, garden from 1.30-3.30; Specsavers, 4.30 - Kitchen Karcher for me - Si Building a bed.;  Bath room karcher 5.30 .... Si Still building bed. ... Vacuuming... 

Oh heavens.   I could barely move after all that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.