Autumn

Love the early autumn vibrancy of this Spindle Tree. I think it’s native to Japan and Korea.

This morning I went to Westonbirt Arboretum and walked 7 miles. The place was very busy indeed so there was skill in keeping well away from popular paths. The overflow parking was open at half nine and they had Marshalls directing cars, some additional food wagons and new portable loos like they use at festivals. I may need to go even earlier next week to avoid the crowds! There felt like there were far too many people congregating in certain areas, like near some of the wooden sculptures. I’ve never seen it so busy in that area, even pre-pandemic.

This afternoon, when home, I sat out in the sunshine for a bit. It’s blue skies, full sun and 16 degrees (it feels like 20). I’ve hand washed some delicates which are now all but dry, cared for the house plants (opps a bit neglected) and I am now making some Victoria Plum based Eve Pudding.

Update: I’ve learned from another Blipper that the berries are poisonous and that they can be used to put on hair to kill lice/nits !!! Crikey- glad I didn’t touch them now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.