A New Monarch With Its Chrysalis

We have had a very active monarch caterpillar on the milkweed plants this week, and each day, several times, my husband and I go out and check on it. It's been very exciting. (And here's some advice: learn to watch "bugs" as a child, and you will find a hobby that provides a lifetime of enjoyment.)

When we went out in the middle of the day, initially, we couldn't find the caterpillar. But my husband pointed to something else: a fresh monarch, a male, sitting by the chrysalis it had just emerged from.

Of course, I ran for my camera and got some photos. And then the caterpillar showed up. It seemed like it was moving at top speed. It walked all up and down the milkweed leaves, and right past the new butterfly (see photo of both of them in the extras).

My soundtrack song: Pat Benatar, with We Live For Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.