HClaireB

By HClaireB

The Witch Ball

On my way through Thame this morning I noticed this old pub sign for the first time (it's not a pub anymore).  Apparently a Witch Ball was used to ward off evil spirits.  The little spire in the background is on the roof of the Victorian Town Hall.

I was on my way to Dyas to buy some batteries.  I must have been looking helpless so a keen young shop assistant (approximate age 12) asked if I needed any help.  I told him I was looking for U2 batteries.  He paused, then said "U2 is a rock band".  So I said "before you were born, U2 was a battery".  So he whipped out his smart phone and googled it (why didn't I think of that?), and said "it's now called a D".  I'll know next time.

We've been doing a bit of digging over the weekend and I think the end is in sight.  Our soil is described as "clay with flints" and I can vouch for that.  I'm sorry I can't look elegant and dig at the same time (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.