Mommytoeandj

By DrNikki

Rest in the changes

I am a family physician who loves people, loves my family, loves God, loves recording photos of things that impact me, and loves writing. My friend Diane introduced me to this site while we were both waiting for our blood draw at the lab.

Changes. Fear. Unknown. Hurt. Sickness. Despair. Death or fear of it. These are issues I encounter every day. And as much as I know I am here to DO SOMETHING, I also know I need to seek, find and take rest. That’s hard when I see, every single day, a world that is filled with people who need help that I could give. I get to come alongside people from every walk of life and hear their stories, help figure out options to improve things, and offer suggestions they could try, all while seeking first and foremost to affirm how incredibly important each one of them are, how much whatever they are going through is worth addressing, and that I am committed to supporting them even if I can’t fix it.

I have been weary. These days are filled with so many changes. Yet I am choosing to still seek rest, knowing there is a God who knows more deeply than I ever will the hurt and fear that people are feeling and who promises He will fix all things eventually but aches with us for the pain we are currently enduring and wants to give us rest through it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.