tempus fugit

By ceridwen

The other baby

Seal report: the pup is thriving and has put on weight.  But a few days earlier when I went to check I was worried. The sea was rough and the tide was flowing. Mother seal was lolling in the surf ignoring the pup who was a few feet further back among some rocks. All of a sudden  a wave reached the pup and  then there was no pup to be seen.. Mum was still dozing in her jacuzzi. Had the baby been washed away by the wave suction? It can happen. But then I saw the pup had wriggled through a gap between the rocks and was  making for higher ground. (Progress is slow when you are sausage-shaped and without legs.)

Today  the baby seal was back down by the water and  it appeared to be thriving. The mother was in the sea but keeping an eye on  it in her usual, apparently casual,  fashion but when it wails for milk she will return to the shore to feed it.

If you want to see a seal pup in action there's short video here.

Thanks to everyone who responded so warmly to the blip of my granddaughter. I  apologize for  not acknowledging personally. I'm a very slack blipper at present  only for reasons of time and competing diversions.  Even though I'm not sure what keeps me so busy doing nothing much.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.