Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Sky fire

No sleep again last night and I had to be up early to take mum to the hairdresser. I think it was probably that that kept me awake... "get real brain, all you have to do is set the alarm and you'll wake up!“ Whatever the reason I was fit for very little for the first hour.
After I dropped mum at the hairdressers I went down to Waitrose for some coconut and rice paper. Ali had asked about macaroons, and I offered the coconut pyramids of my childhood. I got the coconut but had to go into town to Lakeland for the rice paper - which is now called edible wafer paper and is made of potato starch not rice. It doesn't taste quite as nice, but does the job it's intended to. I remember when we were younger mum would go to the cupboard to get the rice paper only to find we'd all three of us snuck in at various times to sneak some out to eat and so it was finished... oops!
Colin took his mum up to Banchory at lunch time, he'll stay the weekend and get her settled in to her newly altered flat.
Meanwhile, I made the coconut pyramids to two different recipes. It will be interesting to see how they compare. I also put the fruit for the Christmas cake to soak in brandy, you should see the state of that recipe page in my Delia book, absolutely covered in cakey marks. Tomorrow's job will be to finish making the cake

This evening I had a Zoom meeting with the Cursillo a group in the Borders which went well. Tomorrow is out Zoom AGM which I hope will all run smoothly. I've done as much preparation as I can. Fabulous sky tonight, I hope it lives up to its weather prediction

Keep safe everybody, how can you take seriously somebody who refers to himself as POTUS and his wife as FLOTUS! I think I prefer #45, but hopefully I'll like #46 even better and very soon. How can somebody be so stupid and uncaring of other people's safety. I don't wish them harm but I'm not convinced. Time will tell.

How can this be day 200 (we locked in a couple of days before the first official day). Will we still be don't this on day 300?

Steps today 10590

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.