Barns and Mines

A view looking towards Keld, over the upper reaches of the River Swale. We enjoyed a stunningly beautiful circular walk from Ivelet into Swinner Gill. It's the land of stone barns and deserted lead mines.

On the back of a recommendation from friends, E had organised a trip away for us to stay in a Yurt near Keld in Swaledale. I first fell in love with this place when I walked the Pennine Way over 40 years ago. It's probably a big part of why I chose to settle on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales in the first place. I could never live in such a remote location, although it might be easier these days with internet grocery deliveries - it would otherwise be a long round trip cycle over the moors to do the shopping. On the other hand, there are so many amazing tracks and paths to explore here that I'd end up wearing away my legs even faster than I'm doing already.

The timing was perfect for an escape, as was the weather. I managed to find the headspace that has proved so elusive recently. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.