Word association

A wooden bridge takes the footpath through a copse and over the Longford stream which eventually flows into the Ouse and down to the Channel. Every time I cross this bridge I recall the name Longford and it takes me back forty years to when I was working on my PhD thesis in Durham. At that time I shared a somewhat noisy office with my supervisor and his two black labradors on Old Elvet almost opposite the old Durham Prison. I used to go into the office on a Sunday afternoon for some quiet writing time. Very often Lord Longford would, for some unknown reason, peer in through the window as he passed on his way to the prison where he would visit the serial killer Myra Hyndley. I don't know why but I was perturbed by his appearance and by his actions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.