Loughborough Dynamo 1 Cleethorpes Town 1

Unable to go to Chester's FA Cup tie at Worksop I opted for some groundhopping and went to watch Loughborough Dynamo v Cleethorpes Town in the Northern Premier League Division One South East. The conditions were awful but it wasn't a bad game and a draw was a fair result with Cleethorpes on top in the first half and Loughborough in the second half. It might have been a different score if former Chester player Ross Hannah hadn't missed a couple of golden opportunities for Cleethorpes before the interval.

Two coincidences:

1) At Padiham on Tuesday I had been talking to two friends and they told me that they were planning to do some groundhopping at the weekend and, as one of them was planning to pick up a new car in Loughborough, they had decided on the same game as me. My blip shows Andy watching the game.
2) It occurred to me as I was driving over that it was 42 years ago to the day that I made the same trip to Loughborough for my first ever day at University.

On the football front Chester were losing 2-0 at Worksop when the final whistle went at Loughborough. By the time I got to my car they had scored a late consolation goal to make it 2-1. As I was driving back I heard from Rick who told me that Chester had equalised in the 94th minute and then won the match on penalties. A great result but massively disappointing to miss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.