WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Pasta ai funghi

Have resigned myself to terrible photos. This morning, I learned that one of the people at my choir meeting on Thursday evening had been in contact with someone last weekend who now has Covid symptoms and has tested positive. SIGH. I knew in my soul that we didn't need an f2f meeting.

Anyway, until she gets her test result (hopefully negative) we decided we'd better not go anywhere. Not difficult as it's been another damp and drizzly day. I decided to try Felicity Cloake's recipe for pasta with mushrooms for lunch. Quite different from my usual pasta and mushroom recipe, which involves cream, and I may have got the relative quantities of mushrooms and other ingredients a bit skew-whiff, but it was good.

Later, I had a sudden impulse to make malt loaf after noticing the jar of malt extract in the pantry. Good rainy day activity. And I read my book, William Dalrymple's The Anarchy. I've read a previous book of his about Indian history, White Mughals, which is superb, shedding a completely new light on the British in India, and this one is shaping up well too. It's about how the English East India Company basically colonised and looted India after the fall of the Mughal Empire (interesting fact: loot is an Indian word).  At one point its private army was twice the size of the British army. He gave a talk at the online Edinburgh book festival which is worth a listen if you are interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.