kirstymill

By kirstymill

Church, pandemic style

Today I went to church, for the first time in almost 7 months. My church has been holding small physical gatherings for a month or so now, but this is the first time I've been to one. We're very restricted in numbers (only a max of 40 people in the building at one time) so I had to book to be able to attend. We all have to wear masks throughout, are seated 2 metres apart and taken to our seats, where we are to stay for the whole of the service. Singing isn't permitted and we can't stay in the building to chat to people afterwards.

It was undoubtedly strange. But it was also really lovely to be meeting with other people, despite the oddness, and the service was lovely.

I go to a large church of almost 1000 people, so we've been asked to wait a few weeks before trying to book to attend again. That's to allow as many people as possible to go while numbers are so restricted. I was a little unsure about going in the first place because it is so different and I wasn't sure what it would be like. However after today's experience I'll definitely go again. I'll just have to wait a few weeks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.