Paused Shielding - Day 66

River Chew

After making a couple of deliveries and trying out a new fruit and veg stall this morning, I went for a walk to look at the floods on the Rivers Chew and Avon. The local news has just told us that the West Country topped the country’s rainfall charts, with a month’s worth of rain in just two days, around 120mm (don’t know where they got their figures from yesterday!)

If you compare my first extra to the same scene 9 days ago ( https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2756645331893489019 ) you can see just how high the Chew has risen. My second extra shows the Avon looking more like the Amazon! My third extra shows the locks on the river which are nearly underwater, along with the flooded fields around the former Cadbury’s factory, where they have built a new housing estate, on a flood plain!

Take care, stay safe and well...

(To spare Toffee’s blushes, just wanted to point out that yesterday she was not actually using the new facilities. I had just put the flat pack loo together and she hopped inside to inspect it. Don’t worry, I don’t intend to keep it in the lounge!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.