Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

A fine autumn day

The day was gorgeous today, especially as it’s now October. Feels more like early September.

It was overcast but a warm wind was blowing across the harvested fields. So I went out for a walk and this was the result.

I realized it was twelve years ago this month that we moved out to this field. Really hard to believe that. I’ve always lived in cities, all my life. Small and big cities. So this was a new road for us.

It still takes some getting used to I guess. The howling coyotes after dark that move me along a bit quicker. The cougar tracks in the snow across our yard. The deer who greet me some mornings as I walk to the church. Then there was last night about one am. I was woken up by a loud shrieking from outside the window. A fox or large cat? I still don’t know but I was very glad to be inside.

But the people here are rural too. They’ll step up to any need in the community and do what they can towards it. They are good people.

So we start year 13 here when we aren’t even allowed to meet as we would like to. I never saw that coming for sure. But I am glad for 12 years with these people before the trouble came. That’s a good foundation for these difficult times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.