Hallwilersee

The weather was really bad first thing in the morning, but by 11am the mountains were looking clear, but it was still gusty. No-one Else wanted to do much, so I set off on the train to Beinwil-am-See, on the West Bank of the lake Hallwilersee. After a quick walk down to the lake, I had 10 mins to enjoy the sun as the boat arrived, to take me over to the Seerose Restaurant boat stop on the east side of the lake. I really love to start a hike with a boat ride, time to sit, enjoy the view, and today the views were magnificent.
The first 5km hugged the bank of the lake, and was pretty busy, everyone taking advantage of the unexpected beautiful sunshine. A few were swimming, quite incredible in early October, still seems to be18 degrees. After 7km, I arrived at the Schloss Hallwil, a beautiful medieval castle surrounded by a perfectly clear turquoise moat full of fish. Also a very popular destination for families today, looked to be quite a queue to get in.
I got more excellent views looking back at the castle, as I headed north on the River Aabach, which flows out of the lake, through to Lenzburg. The weather slowly became more overcast, but mainly warm enough in a T-shirt. I arrived in Lenzburg old town at about 4.30pm ready for a coffee after 16km and just under 4 hours on the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.