Cygnus

By Cygnus

Not a Rembrandt

The Ards Man and I sallied forth to Belfast today, specifically the Ulster Museum. We had been lured there with promises of Rembrandt’s etchings. (As a young student I was invited to a young man’s room to see his etchings. He did actually show me his etchings.)

There was a bit of blurb with brief explanations of print work, Lino cuts and etching, as well as three or four other, similar processes, but I forget what they were now. All the artworks were interesting, but I think we’d have got more from the viewing if we’d known why Rembrandt’s techniques were so experimental and novel. The pieces were lovely, some very dark (literally) and the processes of achieving light and dark in the finished work must have taken so much time, as the lines were so tiny and fine.

I did take some photos of the work, but found this dragon sculpture (for a Game of Thrones farewell party) the most arresting image of the day!

I know, I’m such a Philistine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.