Poor Little Lottie

Lottie cut her front leg on something very sharp in the long grass today. As she came to me I could see something was far from right. She was holding her leg up, blood dripping from it. I could see it was deep, so phoned the vet and said I would be bringing her straight in.

Carried Lottie home, luckily she's only 7.5kg and it's downhill all the way, trying to keep her leg in the air. She was shaking and trembling. Covered in mud down her right side too. Mike abandoned the workshop and drove us into town. I grabbed my Kindle and suggested Mike picked up his crossword book, I suspected there  would be a wait. 

The vet was great. He met us at the door and took Little Lottie in his arms and straight into the surgery. She was obviously in a state of shock. We were to ring him in an hour . . . . 

Thankfully she was okay. The cut was very deep, right down to the tendons, had just missed a vein and she was very lucky. She'd had an anaesthetic and the wound all cleaned and stitched. Poor little thing, she was so sleepy and shivery, we got her home and sat on the couch with her, all snuggled up. 

Hopefully once the painkillers and antibiotics kick in she will feel a lot better and make a full recovery. I will have to go back up the hill and see if I can find what on earth it was she caught herself on. Something long and very sharp, but with a ragged end . . . . Old farm machinery, I expect. When she's chasing a rabbit, she doesn't see anything else, bless her!

In other news, I collected two ex battery hens this morning - baldy but friendly, and H was taken back into hospital again in the evening.  Good God, what a day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.