Devonian

By Mover

Got any Garlic?

Turnstones are communal, busy, fearless birds of enormous character and they are plentiful around Brixham Harbour foraging away. Versatility is the key to their feeding behaviour and in the book Birds Britannica there are several examples. They are partial to crumbs but also gull excrement. Eight turnstones have been observed eating a bar of Lifebuoy soap, They have been recorded to consume seedless raisins, chopped garlic, dog food, cheese, potato peel, apple cores and fish remains. They have been found to feed on a sheep carcass, a dead wolf, as well as a human corpse on an Anglesey beach. This one came close to see if I was alive and looked disappointed so I gave him a bit of my sandwich - brown bread, Italian salad, cream cheese and pepper. They are currently my favourite bird. I was told once that the main thing when photographing a bird is to get a nice bright eye.

Beautiful day, like summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.