The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Goodbye To All This: The Final Act

One of my old work colleagues put a picture up on his facebook wall last night saying the final rites of my old factory were being played out. The last building, the office block, was being demolished. So I wanted to get down there today and try and get one last photo of the place.

Today was the first time I had crossed the factory gates since December 9th 2011. All that was remaining was the lab. It seems they saved the best until last. The site manager allowed me to come in and take some photos, alas the safety manager wasn't on site, but he reckoned if he was he would have let me go down the drive to get some photos.

Alas the sun was in front of me, and this was the best I could do with the little Sony.

I was more emotional than I thought when I left, I mean I wasn't in buckets or anything, but it was quite sad to think all those memories are now rubble. I had a text off my mate at 4pm saying the lab was gone. So I was really, really glad I went down there.

If you want to see the Goodbye To All This sequence, start on December 8th 2011 and work backwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.