Reading

I spent some time working from home. Afterwards the beautiful weather wasn't able to entice me to go out, which I should've done... I finally got started in "The wild silence" a few days ago and now that I started I just want to go on. I read about 60 pages and it's not quite what I hoped for, but I'm still optimistic it will get there.

Meanwhile I realised I still owe you a book review. Well, maybe not owe, but I do like to share it. The latest book by Rachel Joyce, "Miss Benson's Beetle".

It got five out of five stars from me. But I'm sure it's not to everyone's taste...

My review:

I loved the book. I struggled a bit in the beginning. I never thought it would turn into such a delightful read. The author must have such an imaginative mind! And I love how she turns the end into a new beginning.

Be warned, it's not a light hearted book all the way through. It has it's dark moments.
___________________________________________

What's it about :

Miss Benson leaves her job in the spur of the moment. Set in the fifties, the dull period after the war. She wants to go the other side of the world to find the golden beetle, of which there's no prove that it actually exists.. She looks for and finds a travel companion. So far the book seems a little ridiculous..., but if you got this far, hang on. It gets better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.