catkins62

By catkins62

I'm asking for one of these from Santa ;-)

My friend J and I were at the Mary Quant exhibition in the Dundee V&A.

It was fab. Clothes donated/loaned by women from all over the world apparently.

I remember my eldest sister having MQ make up, I don't think she could have afforded the clothes.

I hadn't realised how expensive they were eg one shirt could cost the equivalent of a shop worker's weekly wage... And her cheaper pieces were double the price of Marks and Spencer. Fascinating.

So although her clothes weren't haute couture they certainly weren't for the masses.

Although, to be fair to MQ, she did collaborate with pattern makers. This meant the hoi polloi could make her designs up at home.

https://www.vam.ac.uk/dundee/info/mary-quant-exhibition-reopens-va-dundee

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.