TinyR

By TinyR

Subway

I like The Clockwork Orange (Glasgow Subway, for those of you not in the know). It's small, relatively reliable and journeys are known as 'rides'. Of course, I should have moved on from finding such things funny but it seems in keeping with the Glasgow humour that I love so much. Each time I buy my 20 Journey Ticket and see the words '20 RIDES' printed on it, I can't help but smile to myself. At ten to seven in the morning, as I make my way to work, such moments are precious!


Today, I went to The Riverside Museum. I kind of miss the old Transport Museum beside Kelvinhall but the new one is well laid out and shiny, and the location by the river is, especially on a sunny afternoon, really rather lovely. This sign is outside the Subway station in the old cobbled street, just as you come into the museum. Whilst I shall always associate the colour orange with the subway, even after seeing the old wooden seats and carriages of the older subway trains, I certainly wouldn't miss the smell you get on the one that makes its way around Glasgow today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.