The Geese return

Saturday 10th October 2020


A wedding in church midday, nice and simple with only 15 people. Late afternoon I had booked to go to Martin Mere with my friend J so that we could stay for the late night opportunity to watch the geese return. Approximately 10,000 of them are currently resting at MM on their migration South from Iceland. MM is their annual stopping point. 

We managed a short walk around the rest of the reserve to feed the other geese before it was time to go to the hide. As we were late in the day when we arrived we only managed to get tickets for the open panel hide so we had to stand. 

Needless to say, I took the beast with me and it was a good learning time. After walking round the reserve and then lifting it to the height of the open panel a number of times my arms were certainly aching! I seemed to be struggling with focussing but learnt how to adjust the manual focus. I ended up with some reasonable shots and certainly saw more than I would have with the other lens. We'd been there quite a while and seen a good number at once but then all of a sudden it got noisy and a whole wave of them arrive at once in their thousands. More photos in extras. I did have to rely on the phone for some more wide angle shots.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.