It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

1st Blip in Years!

Blip was a habit when I lived in Manchester. But life changes, the camera collected dust & I focussed on work.

But in lockdown, Rosemary & I spent more time together and often went a wee walk a few times a day. There was a spotted flycatcher nesting in a wall near our house, so every walk invariably led to walking past 'the bird'. Also, with the swimming pool shut, Wardie Bay became my new swimming pool. It's 20 minutes walk from the house. Whilst I do notice things, that walk became a big part of life. I always get annoyed at the BMW X5 driver parked on the pavement at The Old Chain Pier. But then there's herons, eider duck, goosander and all sorts of other creatures to chill me out again. Whilst always a bit of an environmentalist greeney, the old passion from when I was a kid has come back in my dotage. Birds! 

This morning, whilst still dark, I jumped on the bike down to the scrapes at Musselburgh. It was cold, but I had a flask of 'Bruntsfield blend' tea and settled down for 90-mins. The scrape was full of lapwing and a few waders. I like this curlew one! Cool, but common, creatures. Then about 200 grey geese appeared and the peace was over. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.