SUNDAY AFTERNOON SHOPPING

We spent all afternoon driving up into Northumberland and back (sprung upon me at very short notice) so that B could pick up something he'd bought online. However, while we all stood masked outside the rather lovely country house (which they'd bought from one of the founders of Viz magazine) exchanging money and equipment, I took this photo of the view from the back of their property. What with that and the thick stone walls and stone outbuildings, I wasn't at all envious (she lied). They invited us back to visit whenever in the future we can actually go inside. This evening, my sisters and I did a Zoom crossword together, and I'll be able to tell my neighbour that his yelling at his children was heard all over the country and indeed in north-west Texas. Those stone walls are very appealing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.