Brilliant day!

It was a beautiful day today, so I decided to go to Iping common to look for spiders, sadly I only saw two, but I did see this beautiful female Bog bush cricket Metrioptera brachyptera. 
The Bog bush cricket is an attractive cricket which as the name suggests lives in damp heathland areas. They are variable in colour but this one was a particularly beautiful bright green. She took exception to being on my hand, even though she could have easily hopped off, and just after the photo was taken nipped me! 
I also found some beautiful lichen out on the heath and I have added a shot in extras,
After I left Iping I went to Didling to visit the beautiful little downland church that is there (See extra) often known as 'The Shepherds church' because of it's location on the northern slopes of Didling hill. It is surrounded by the most amazing scenery, see extra, well worth another visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.