Sparkey

By Sparkey

Crescent Moon

Today saw the much anticipated close fly-by of asteroid "2012 DA14" (catchy name, huh?) Since there was no chance of being able to get any shots of old 2012 DA14 myself, I thought I'd have a look at some of the live pictures on the internet.

So, off to the NASA website I went with much excitement. And there it was - an awesome spectacle of nature that made me think about my own place in the vastness of the cosmos. Oh wait, no, it was a small white dot moving across a black rectangle. Huh. Anticlimactic, to say the least.

Certainly it was nowhere near as impressive as the plethora of videos of the Russian meteors that were in the news today. Now it goes without saying that hundreds of people being injured is a tragedy, but damn it those things looked cooool!

Anyway, with the space theme in mind, I went out to see if there was anything in my little patch of sky that was worth blipping. Got a couple of shots of Orion and a couple of Jupiter, but in the end decided to post a boring shot of the moon. Sorry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.