Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Seeing treble

I had ambitions to do some street photography today but our local town centre was like a ghost town, which made me realise that street photography is actually about the people rather that the places they inhabit. Or maybe both. Anyway it was moribund and mostly overcast until we started walking home. 

So I settled for this advertising set in the entrance to Debenhams which had me excited as I thought valentino was an anagram of ovaltine. Then I realised I had one too many letter ns which was a shame. I was going to make a joke about the famous silent movie star Rudolph Ovaltine. 

Valentino is an anagram of "alien on tv" and "ant in vole" which I like. But this is all about perfume so I think "ant in love" would be kind of cool. 

I suddenly realised this afternoon that I will be unemployed for 24 hours tomorrow. I technically finish with my current employment at midnight tonight and receive my pension and start my "new" job on Tuesday. Then I thought of all the people having a tough time of it in this era because they really are unemployed. I don’t know how some people are coping; there will be a lot of people having to move back in with parents, struggle to make ends meet, and god knows how many mental health problems people will have to endure. The last time I was out of work was back in the ‘eighties but even then under Thatcher the benefits system was more relaxed and I had no real responsibilities or commitments to keep me awake at night. Maybe this era of Covid will have such a wide impact that attitudes will have to change and people will become more supportive.

Lovely long zoom call with Big Bro and Sis this morning - nearly an hour and a half - and another one with TGR this evening. Love talking to my family. Also did some much needed garden maintenance. October is the month to put the outdoors to bed for the winter ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.