Remembering Paul

Today marks the 10 year anniversary of the death of my Berlin friend Paul. He provided me with a home base for my work in Europe after 2002. 

Born in El Paso, USA he spent most of his life working in Europe. On January 16, 2004  he was awarded the Bundesverdienstkreuz (Germany's Federal Cross of Merit). It was awarded by Johannes Rau, President of the Federal Republic of Germany. 

I asked Paul to pose for this photo, wearing his medal, his RM Williams Aussie hat, and holding his much loved dog Maxe. This is my favourite photo of Paul. He was 86.

To celebrate my memories of Paul and my numerous trips to Berlin, I put together a Google album of all of my digital photos in Berlin, and shared it with his many friends.

The Extra photo is the Reichstag, an historic building that is a symbol of Berlin. Taken before doing the guided tour of the German parliament.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.