Carey20August

By Carey20August

Day 283/20 Low Key Blue Eyes

My camera group had a challenge of producing a low key image - due in by Saturday at midnight. No problem - Georgia was coming to visit on Saturday. Alas, the visit was postponed so I had to find another model... With Corvid restrictions I struggled, then spotted this china doll in the spare bedroom.

I watched a video on low-key - off camera flash and a black background. I tried her against a gray wall - too bright. I then found a black skirt. I pinned the skirt on a clothes horse and stood her on the carpet in front of the skirt. 

The light was a torch that I put on a stool.. and it fell off. I grabbed a pillow from the bed and put the torch on top.. 

Alas the whole setup was too low for me to use a tripod so I steadied the camera on another stool then started to shoot.

I think quite like the effect. Her hair wasn't right, so I draped a shawl around her. The extra photo is another version of the same shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.