Return to the North

By Viking

Made my day

Today was the Murchison A&P show in which TeeJay had entered some photos. Because she doesn't like being judged we headed off to Denniston on the West Coast for the day. Her students are going to be studying some Jenny patrick novel all about life in the mining community of years gone by. TeeJay wants to take her students there on a trip so we were doing a reccie today in preparation for the trip.
The plan is to incorporate a walk into the day , a kind of Deniston rose walk. While doing this today (and of course doing our obligatory blip hunt and exercise) we saw this wee beauty.
When I see we - I mean I SPOTTED HIM!!!! A bird flew right in front of me and at first I thought it was a female blackbird but as my eye followed it and it went to sit in a tree I realised differently. I don't even know why my eyes stayed on it because I honestly thought it was a nondescript bird - but it turned its head around and WOW it was a Morepork.
I grabbed hold of TeeJay's arm and whispered that it was a Morepork and all she could say was 'Where, Where?' After some frantic pointing to a tree barely 15ft in front of us!!!!!!!!! she finally caught on to where it was!!!!!!
I then had to very slowly take my bag off my bag, get camera, change lens and ready myself for a photo all without frightening the thing away. TeeJay just started shooting with the 60mm macro!
Thankfully it simply sat there while the both of us barrelled off 80 shots each - we were both SOOOOOOOOOOOO EXCITED!!!!! TeeJay was reduced to tears and we spent the rest of the day saying 'We've seen a Morepork'

Can you tell that neither of us has ever seen one before???????


Oh and this is only cropped slightly to take the branch above out - so you can tell how close it was!

Oh and looks good large


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.