Come into the Garden

By aprecious

Wishing

"All of us (including dogs) might wish at times that we lived in a more tranquil world, but we don't. And if our times are difficult and perplexing, so are they challenging and filled with opportunity."
Robert Kennedy

I profoundly wish that I wasn't wearing this stupid hat. What does she take me for? Just because she likes to dress up in silly outfits why should I suffer the same fate?

I am a dog of great intellectual capacity. She is trying to tell me that dogs people of great and deep thought wear panama hats, and so I should consider the wearing of it a measure of my growing status as a philosopher. I've asked for evidence but all she's said is, "You know - that - you know, that famous bloke?"

I wish I knew what she was talking about...

And on the subject of wishing - and after the success of sharing my mother's homily yesterday - I'll leave you with this. (Turn away now if you are easily offended.) So, if you said "I wish I had" or "I wish I was" my mother would say, "Wish in one hand, and sh*t in the other, and see which gets fullest first."

Also, a gratuitous link to Aggers and Brian Johnstone who definitely did wear a hat like this... Brian Johnstone and Aggers I may have spelt Johnstone wrong but definitely worth - a very British giggle - this fine morning.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.