Life Savors

By osuzanna

Tiny Tuesday: Soft

It is very exciting to find a new place to visit after living in this area for more than 40 years. 

My husband read something yesterday about "River Farm" which is the headquarters for the American Horticultural Society.  It is on 24 acres that overlook the Potomac River and was once part of the land owned by George Washington.  Later it was owned by a publishing heiress who loved horticulture and gave it to the society. 

Although many of the flowers are past their prime, the gardens still looked very nice.  There were formal gardens and much to my delight a large area had been planted with scattered ornamental grasses and then left to flourish as a meadow.  It must be spectacular in June and July and I was expressing how excited I would be to go back there next year when my husband read to me by way of his phone that the property was up for sale for a cool 16 million.  I can only hope that the State of Virginia or the federal government will take it over and preserve it before some developer gets in there.  Anyway, at that price, it might not sell so fast. 

This is much better in LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.