By the edge of the lake

Began the day by having to cycle back to the apartment from five blocks on the way to work; when I realised that I'd left my mobile behind. Even so I was in plenty of time for the first meeting (at 0800) which was the Safe prescribing steering group. We had overseen the pharmacy students who had undertaken an audit of antipsychotic prescribing. Now we are planning the intervention aimed at quality improvement. Despite being a diverse group, we all share a drive to ensure that such drugs are used in the lowest doses for each individual, especially after the initial audit found that 15% of patients receive doses above the approved maximum dose.

The daily meeting on who is ready to be discharged was the usual moderately desultory discussion of why people couldn't be discharged. Straight from there to the weekly MDT meeting with the Community Mental Health Team participating by Zoom. 

Another time of frustration for me. Along with others, I have worked to establish an expectation of joint planning for treatment early in the hospital stay. However, that has not resulted in patients being able to leave when they are ready to. There has to be a discharge meeting and that happens days to more than a week after the person is fit to go home.

That was followed a meeting of a service wide group which has been working on ways and means of improving the efficiency of admission and discharge processes. Rather ironic really. After a quick lunch and finishing the Guardian cryptic, I spent the afternoon clinically with the registrar, although interspersed with responding to urgent emails and telephone calls. 

Left for home at 1730, and then went to Western Springs Lake with my new Pentax.. A pair of Eastern Rosellas flew into a tree near where I was and just as I got myself set, the left again. One didn't go far; landing on the lake edge. Gave me the opportunity to get today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.