Windmill 'Seldom Rest', Budel

Budel is a small village south of Eindhoven and has not one, not two, but three windmills.  That could mean three separate trips.  This one is the one you can spot from the main road.

The original goal was, again, Aalst, and today, after studying Google maps more patiently, I finally found it ... and discovered that I could not shoot it properly because it is surrounded on all sides by houses with no public alley where I could have approached closer.  To top that, it was facing in the 'wrong direction', meaning away from the road, so that I would have had to knock on a door or two and ask if I could shoot it from some backyard.  Given our current COVID situation, I killed that idea straight away.

Instead of heading back home, I just drove further to Budel.  It's a quiet area, part of the municipality of Craenendonk.  After shooting this one, I looked for one of the other two and found the second one at the other end of the same street as this one.  Looks like I'll have an easy time next time.  You might be wondering why I didn't just shoot both and then change the second one's date.  I could do that, yes, but I welcome the drive, too.  I have a good, solid excuse to get out of the house for a couple of hours (or three), and the chance to explore a part of the country I've never had a reason to visit.  Besides, I'm also happy to post something shot on the day indicated, if possible.

The usual housework at home, and a quiet Sunday altogether.  AW wasn't back yet when I got back, and didn't open the front door until about 2.5 hours later.  Good weather included, it was a pleasant, simple day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.