Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Solderless

My aged iPhone started to die. The battery would not hold it's charge. As I only use it to receive abusive texts from JazzyB I thought it wasn't worth replacing with a new contract, new iPhone etc etc. Then I found out via Youtube that it's possible to change the battery. Yippppeee. An opportunity to buy new tiny tools and play.

The 30 minute job took an hour. Three days later my thumb is still numb but the phone is ripping away. I give Apple due credit; superb engineering. This is the top of the battery it's 40mm across and the strip containing the clever bits is 5mm deep. I have cut off the protective tape and moved the connector strip 180º up to show the workings, it is described as "solderless" which means the contacts are all plug in. Loads of tiny connectors, no wonder they are made in China you need small nimble fingers inside the thing. No idea how my paws managed it.

Total cost for tools and new battery £8.95. Yah boo sucks to the new deals.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.