Fox Glacier

It’s fun playing tourists in our own country!
We stopped at Franz Joseph and visited the Kiwi Wildlife Centre - a partnership between DOC ( Department of Conservation) and the local Iwi. They rescue and hatch the eggs of the Rowi Kiwi ( very rare), hatch them, protect them until they can defend themselves, then release them into the wild.
We could watch 2 of them in a darkened area-they were not at all timid, and one was running around its area as if circuit training!
They also have Tuatara, which live well into their 100s! They sit so still that I thought they were models-and when one of the staff told me they were alive , I had to go back and watch them for ages until I saw one move its head Slightly! Amazing creatures.

After lunch, we walked (Jill biked) to look at the Fox Glacier. This photo is off the Glacier taken with my IPhone’s telescopic lens- so it may look rather pixelated. (I can’t tell on my iPhone)

Back to Wanaka tomorrow-really looking forward to picking up Frida, and being back home with her and George and Billy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.