Amber

A haircut, so up town to meet my man, James. He’s of like mind about the covid. They’ve tried this lockdown before and it didn’t work. Zactly, sez I. What’s plan B is what I want to know. Zactly, sez I. And what if they never get a vaccine. Zactly, sez I. 
Home to continue on the reminiscences I started yesterday. It being a year like no other, I decided I really ought to write it up as it could be of interest one day to my granddaughter - the year of her birth after all. Of course hindsight has be avoided, which isn’t easy. When did we become aware of the approaching storm? For me, the whole thing was just another story of no great significance which slowly crept into my consciousness throughout the first couple of months of 2020. There was no event I was aware of, no "where were you when JFK was shot.” Looking at my blips I didn’t mention covid until February 27th as that was when the stock markets went into free-fall. 
And now, hardly a day passes. I’d been very taken by a letter from the Filmhouse where they'd stated that the low numbers using the cinema and the cafe mean that the business as it currently stands is unsustainable. So we went to see a picture - On the Rocks, the new Sofia Coppola film. Bill Murray, pass marks. But sad to say, poor old Filmhouse. Sitting with a mask on throughout a film is just awful and won’t be repeated. 
Today, NS: "I will, however, say a bit more to Parliament tomorrow about new rules on face coverings…..” 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.