Fernando Cohen

By fernandocohen

Portrait with an attitude

Isn't there a conflict between what you photograph instinctively and what might be called your commercial work?
Well, I don't say I work instinctively when somebody asks me to do a portrait. Actually, I am beginning to hate it. I've already advertised this fact widely. I am not going to photograph anybody who has money and hates his face. That's it. I'm not going to be conned into doing it because of money. I ought to be in a position where I can have a few choices. At first, I never had any choice and I did the best I could, but believe me, I've had plenty of disappointments from people who don't like their faces.
Imogen Cunningham

Dialogue with Photography, Paul Hill & Thomas Cooper

What a great woman! You can see some of her works here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.