Flower Spirit

By flowerspirit

Blackthorn

Beautiful blackthorn, sacred to the fairies and used in ancient Beltane ritual to represent male energy while hawthorn represents the female. I went for a run today and noticed that it was growing all along the path by the river.

At first I wasn't sure if it was hawthorn or blackthorn so I decided to pick one blossom to take home and identify it. I am in the habit of respectfully asking a plant's permission before I pick and I got a really strong sense that i wasn't to pick it, so I didn't. Instead I took photos of it and identified it from them when I got home. I've just read on a website that it is said to be protected by the fairies and shouldn't be picked unless you want to rouse the wrath of the fairies! How funny.

Blackthorn flower essence brings spiritual understanding to fear. Many of us carry deep subconscious fears, and blackthorn enables us to gain a spiritual perspective on the purpose these fears serve.

Look out for it in late summer/autumn when the blossom will turn into sloes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.